Showing posts with label cheapskate. Show all posts
Showing posts with label cheapskate. Show all posts

Jan 11, 2010

soon-to-be owner of lomo is a cheapskate

I was reading my previous post about me being a cheapskate and I realized something horribly wrong. haha. It's so obvious that I've been blinded by my greediness of owning the GH. Hello. If I am a true cheapskate, why not just get the Holga or the Smena instead??


God, I can't believe I'm so picky. Well heck, I can afford to be as choosy as I want, right? it's my $$$ and I'm currently low on cash btw. Plus, a LOT of things to save up for. Far more important things like Oreo supplies and a new bedsheet. So this toy will be (hopefully) the last thing that I'm going to invest on. I'm talking about long-term benefits. And amazing results yay! Wish me luck on this one. hehe.


For now let's take a look at the Holga and the Smena.


Holga 135 (RM 175)


Holga 135 Camera
就像一幅水彩 by *SAM.dreamland by yishi.ho.Holga 135BC | Lomography Fine Color 100 by voodooprojekt.She by Edoardo Bonaccorsi.La Lechera by I, noise..tenho tara por este prédio by jujubaz.a mais clichê by jujubaz.

Lomo Smena 8M (RM 140)
The Smena 8M



I don't know if it's just me, but it seems that the Holga 135 has a certain bias towards the sky, or should I say, the Holga users, no? Most of the pictures are blue-ish. And not just that, the Smena 8M too, but this time it focuses on the green side of things. Haha.


Why can't I just make up my mind already?? Arrrrrrrghhh!! It's quiet hard choosing the right one with no vintage camera shops around the corner for me to hang out at and try out every single one of them. Wait. I can't do that. Not with a toy camera. I keep on forgetting that lomos aren't digital. lol. How am I supposed to take a look at the results of the shot I took then? Obviously, this ain't making my job any easier. This requires patience. This requires washing the film. And to complete the roll of film, you gotta wait. And the last thing to do is hope that it comes out good, or better than we expected it to be. 

Jan 9, 2010

Golden Half

I am stoked to use one and start shooting! They look irresistable! And did I mention SUPER yummy??!! It's like they're looking at me straight in the eyes and say: Hey you! Yes you. Pick me up NOW!! I know I'm going gaga over the toy camera, but I just couldn't take my eyes and mind off them! Golden Half aka Magic-Camera-That-Has-Got-Me-Crazy-Over-You, I'm yours. Go ahead, call me crazy.




No, not you, Diana or your twin Sister Diana F+.


 
This is the one I wanted to get, but unfortunately this Golden Half Chelsea Maika special edition is not available yet. OR since I last checked. Have to ask TCS if they've got one in store. Fingers crossed. XD Check out the cute box that comes together with the camera!



Baby please be mine already. You are too HAWT to resist. Nyam nyam.





Look at the size comparison between the GH and the Holgas. The Holga 135 costs RM 175. Plus, the Holga only comes in one colour and looks too bulky for me. So, I opt for the wacky Golden Half instead. From what I've heard in reviews, the verdict remains the same. Some said that the Diana is a junk if you compare it with the LOMO LC-A and Golden Half. It does sound kinda harsh because personally, I think, the Diana has its own strength and originality. The reason why I chose to get the GH eventhough it's slightly more costly than the others (except the LOMO LC-A as that costs a whopping RM 580!!!) is due to the fact that:





  • I get to shoot 72 photos on a roll of 36! 
  • It takes half-frame pictures!
  • I can make my very own personal story board!
  • They come in COOL designs!
  • The hotshoe at the side fits all standard flash units!
  • Is great for travelling (from what I've read)
  • It's one of the world's most popular toy camera!
and this being the BEST excuse of all time;
  • Great for a cheapskate like moi!! Hehehe.. 

Powered By Blogger